Allah, make us those who guide others to the right path and are themselves rightly guided, and not those who have themselves erred and led others astray.

“Allah, I beseech You for Your mercy to guide my mind, to settle my affairs, to order my disorder, to repel temptation, to improve my religious nature, to preserve my secret thoughts, to raise up my visible acts, to purify my actions, to brighten my face, to inspire me to have the right direction, to satisfy all my needs and to keep me from all evil.

“Allah, I beseech You for pure faith which will fill my mind. I beseech You for truly sure faith so that I may know that nothing will ever befall me except that which You have written down for me, and [I beseech You] for satisfaction in that which You have allotted to me. Allah, I beseech You for true faith, for sure faith, after which no unbelief [will enter my mind]. I also beseech You for Your mercy by which I may receive the privilege of Your regard in this world and in the Hereafter.

“Allah, I beseech You for patience with that which You have allotted to me, for success at the time of encountering You [on the Day of Judgement], for the high ranks of the martyrs [in Paradise], for the life of those who will be happy [in the Hereafter], for help against enemies, and for the companionship of the prophets [in the highest grade of Paradise].

“Allah, I place my needs before You, although my thought is weak and I fall short in my action; I am in dire need of Your mercy. I, therefore, beseech You, O Determinder of all affairs, O Healer of human souls, that, as You rescue from the midst of the seas, You would rescue me from the punishment of Hell, punishment of the grave, and the prayer for total annihilation [which the dwellers of hell with do when they being chained will be thrown into a narrow corner of it].

“Allah, the Lord of all the worlds, I pray to You and beseech You for that good which You have promised to any man, or for that good which You bestow upon any of Your creatures, but my mind is too weak to think of it, my action is too imperfect to achieve it, and my intention and desire could not reach it.

“Allah, make us those who guide others to the right path and are themselves rightly guided, and not those who have themselves erred and led others astray; those who are at war with Your enemies, but at peace with Your friends; those who love men with Your love and are hostile with Your hostility towards those of Your creatures who have disobeyed you. Allah, this is my prayer, but it is for ou to answer; this is my utmost endeavour, but in You is my trust. ’Surely we belong to Allah, and surely we shall return to Him.’ There is no ability or power except with Allah, the All-high, the All-great.

“Allah, I beseech You to protect me on the Day of Doom and to grant me Paradise on the Day of Eternity, along with the saints and martyrs who bow down and fall prostrate in ritual prayer very often and those who fulfil their covenants with You. Surely You are Ever Merciful, Every Loving, and you do what You will. Glory be to Him Who is characterised by might and holds it! Glory be to Him Who is clothed and adorned with glory! Glory be to Him Who alone deserves the perfect glorification! Glory be to Lord of bounty and grace! Glory be to the Lord of power and generosity! Glory be to Him Who has encompassed everything with His knowledge!

“Allah, grant me light in my mind, light in my grave, light in my ears, light in my eyes, light in my hair, light in my skin, light in my flesh, light in my blood, light in my bones, light before me, light behind me, light to right of me, light to left of me, light above me, and light beneath me. Allah, increase my light and give me the greatest light of all. Through Your mercy grant me light, O the Most Merciful of those who show mercy.”

